Taking Chances

Written by Katharine

At the start of 2011, my words were passion and intention.  I wanted to find a way to live passionately and with intention every day.  It’s now halfway through the year, and my new words are: take a chance.

TAKE A CHANCE.

It sounds so simple, but it’s so hard and complicated.  The problem with taking a chance is that we don’t know what the end result will be and we don’t know if we’ll be any happier than before.  Yet, I realized that every time I’ve taken a chance, I’ve never regretted it.  In fact, sometimes I’ve turned out a bit happier than before.

I took a chance staying in Australia for this long when my intention was to be here for four days and then move elsewhere.  I started forming friendships and connections with people at my hostel and the local pub and I realized that I needed to give this city and these people more of my time.

Truthfully, one reason why I’ve stayed in Sydney for this long is because I met someone.  They say you find it when you least expect it.  I wasn’t looking for anything.  I don’t even know what I want in regards to dating and relationships anymore.  Sometimes I miss the companionship and comfort of a relationship but other times I love being single and independent.  Part of this journey around the world was to figure out what I wanted, but then I met a man and it all just … clicked.

Things tend to move much quicker when you travel abroad.  I met him two weeks ago at the pub he worked at located right next to the hostel.  He finished his shift and joined a handful of backpackers to a local nightclub.  I spent much of that night talking to him (his Australian accent sucked me in, what can I say?) and the next thing I know, it’s 4AM and we’re standing outside of my hostel making plans for the next night later that night.

I don’t typically fall for men this quickly, but there’s just something about him.  He’s genuine, warm-hearted, and honest.  He has a strong passion for life, big career goals, and can make me laugh from my soul.  It’s new, it’s different, it’s refreshing. I’ve never felt this way about a man this quickly.

I didn’t think I’d find a man who lives halfway around the world and has the ability to make me want to stay in one city for this long.  I didn’t think I’d be one of those people who would consider taking a chance on a boy and a shot at love under these circumstances.

Too Good to be True

But as my luck would have it, I was recently offered a teaching position that would take me away from the boy and out of Australia all together for an indefinite amount of time.

Truthfully, I don’t know what to do.  I finally found a city I love and a man who compliments me and I have to either sacrifice all of that for a job I truly love, or sacrifice this job opportunity for a relationship that may not necessarily last after my visa expires.

I’m falling in love with Australia every day, but this country is ridiculously expensive and I’m not sure how long I can financially continue staying here on holiday (while there are some language schools in Australia, it’s currently the off-season and there aren’t many English teaching jobs available). Yet, if I take this job at a language school in Taiwan, there’s a good chance I’m going to regret passing up this shot at being happy and [maybe] in love in Australia.

Nothing in life that’s worth having comes easy.

I want to take a chance, but I don’t know at what.  I can go to Taiwan at the end of June to teach English, reconnect with friends who are teaching there, and take a chance at being passionate about a career; or I can stay in Australia for the next two months, continue living a rock-star lifestyle, and take a chance on being happy in Australia with this man and this foundation I’ve created for myself.

Take a chance.

It sound so easy, yet it’s so hard and complicated.

– See more at: http://www.stratejoy.com/2011/06/taking-chances/#sthash.86v1rGxs.dpuf

Leave a Reply

