Everyone is Born With Passion

Written by Andrea

What is your passion? If you had to write a phrase explaining yours, what would it be?

While spending an amazing family weekend with my mom and sister in NYC, we talked a lot about the past and pondered over the future. I was still trying to come up with a topic for my Personal Statement and I think I may have found it.

I’m going to write about passion.

My passion is to mentor others, just as special people in my life have been a mentor figure for me.

I have this theory that everyone is born with passion. The challenge in life  is to discover that passion, and then really conquer it. I see too many people living passion-less lives. We only get one shot at life so why not try to find our passion in the time we’ve got, right?

If you are having a hard time figuring out your potentials passion try this excercise. Get out a piece of paper and try to fill in the blanks:

  • You would do XXX as a job, even if you never got paid
  • If you could wake up everyday and have XXX be your job, you’d be the happiest person alive
  • When you look back on your life 10 years from now, you want to know that you did XXX
  • People know you as the person who loves XXX
  • At your very core, you are XXX
  • You feel you were born to do XXX

Its ok if you aren’t living your passion at this exact moment, just as long as you are aware that YOU have one and there is potential to achieve that dream someday.

It’s a tricky question, isn’t it?

It takes some serious thought. Maybe too much thought for the time you have set aside to read this Stratejoy blog, but think about it later today, tomorrow or over the next few days and see what you come up with. Write it on a little piece of paper and tuck it in your wallet. Go back and look at it from time to time.

Then, share it with me. I told you my passion and I’d love to hear yours.

Everyone is born with passion, what is yours?

– See more at: http://www.stratejoy.com/2009/12/everyone-is-born-with-passion/#sthash.HIEZlt6J.dpuf

Leave a Reply

