Acknowledging Gratitude

Written by Elyse // Filed under All Posts, Elyse, Quarterlife Crisis, Season 5, Tips + Tools + Life Lessons

It has always been hard for me to be grateful. I’m really good at thinking about the things that irk me or are bothersome, but rarely do I reflect on all the good things in my life, which is a shame, because I really do have many good things in my life.

Back in high school, I used to make lists of things that made me happy when I was feeling pissed off or depressed.  Those lists really helped, but as I got older, I fell out of that habit. I couldn’t think of a better place to reinstitute the list-making tradition with things I am grateful for. I don’t think gratitude is only for the big things, but even the small things that make life worth living.

This Thanksgiving, I am grateful for…

©       My incredible family – Even though I love my life in Cincinnati, and I’m a grown woman, I still get homesick for them. Going home for the holidays is always something I look forward to because of them.

©       My boyfriend, Rob – He makes every day special.

©       My job at the zoo – so many incredible animals and people grace me with their presence every day. I am having experiences that are so unique and special and get to do what I love: teach kids.

©       BBQ sauce – my sauce addiction

©       The sunset behind the church steeple out my apartment window

©       Good music on the radio when going to work early in the morning

©       My new neighborhood, Over-the-Rhine

©       My friends – they keep me laughing and enjoying life

©       Tea – Especially on chilly days or before bed, it is liquid comfort

I need to work on appreciating these things more often and continuing to find new things to be thankful for. What are you thankful for on a day-to-day basis?

– See more at: http://www.stratejoy.com/2011/11/acknowleding-gratitude/#sthash.lnRtQHpd.dpuf

Leave a Reply

